Call us on: +44 (0) 28 8224 9494

Digital Transformation Flexible Fund

A person, against a blue digital background, is reaching out their hand and touching something off screen. They are wearing a digital blue visor over their face. Blue banner across the bottom. White text "Digital Transformation Flexible Fund" Omagh Enterprise logo within the blue banner

Call 3 of the Digital Transformation Flexible Fund (DTFF) opens for applications on 17 June 2024.

The DTFF aims to help small and micro businesses in Northern Ireland to invest in advanced digital technologies. It establishes a grant fund to support eligible businesses with investments in capital equipment that is critical to achieving their digital transformation ambitions.

The focus of the fund is on innovative technologies, such as:

  • smart environments and the Internet of Things
  • simulation, process automation and additive manufacturing
  • big data and analytics
  • immersive technologies
  • artificial intelligence and machine learning
  • blockchain technologies and more

To be eligible, capital investments must enable business transformation rather than simply digitisation of existing business models or operations.

Funding is available between £5,000 and £20,000 for an investment project. If eligible, the grant can fund up to 70% of the cost of the total value of a project. Applicants must match-fund a minimum of 30% of the overall project costs.

Register for the DTFF pre-briefing sessions

Expressions of Interest (EoI) for Call 3 will open on 17 June 2024. Interested applicants should attend a pre-briefing session before submitting an EoI.

Online briefing sessions

Online via MS Teams Date Time Registration
Session 1 17 June 2024 2pm-4pm Register
Session 2 27 June 2024 midday-2pm Register
Session 3 3 July 2024 midday-2pm Register


In-person briefing sessions

Several councils across Northern Ireland are hosting in-person pre-briefing sessions. Check the details below and register for a briefing session near you.

Council Area Date Time Venue
Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council 18 June 2024 9:30am-11am Antrim Civic Centre, Steeple Suite, 50 Stiles Way, Antrim BT41 2UB
Ards and North Down Borough Council 25 June 2024 2pm-3:30pm Hamilton Hub, Mills Road, Bangor BT20 4LH
Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council 20 June 2024 10am-11:30am Craigavon Centre, 66 Lakeview Road, Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon BT64 1AL
Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council 18 June 2024 10am-11:30am Civic Headquarters, Large Committee Room, Cloonavin, 66 Portstewart Road, Coleraine, BT52 1EY
Derry City and Strabane District Council 20 June 2024 10:30am-12:30pm White Horse Hotel, 68 Clooney Road, Derry-Londonderry BT47 3PA
Fermanagh and Omagh District Council 19 June 2024 10am-11:30am Omagh Enterprise Centre, Great Northern Road Omagh, BT78 5LU
Lisburn and Castlereagh City Council 27 June 2024 8:30am-10am Chestnut Suite, Civic Centre Lagan Valley Island, 1 The Island, Lisburn BT27 4RL
Mid and East Antrim Borough Council 21 June 2024 9:30am-11am Room Innovov 3, Ecos Visitor Centre, Kernohans Lane, Ballymena BT43 7QA
Mid Ulster District Council 20 June 2024 9:30am-11am The Burnavon, Burn Road, Cookstown, BT80 8DN
Newry, Mourne and Down District Council 20 June 2024 9:30am-11am Burrendale Hotel, 51 Castlewellan Road, Newcastle BT33 0JY


You can also register to join the free thematic webinars from the William J. Clinton Leadership Institute, focusing on the advanced digital technologies eligible for funding under the DTFF. The webinars will take place between 21 May and 25 June 2024.

Read the full DTFF applicant guidance for a detailed overview of the programme, eligibility and how to apply.

In order to claim from the DTFF, successful applicants will have to complete an Innovate NI Innovation Assessment before they can draw down funding.

The DTFF is delivered by all local authorities in Northern Ireland under the Full Fibre Northern Ireland Consortium and supported by Invest Northern Ireland. The project is part funded by the NI Executive, UK Government, Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs and all local councils in Northern Ireland.

Share this post